Inclusive Learning Communities

The Center for Teaching & Learning would like to honor the Inclusive Learning communities of 2022-2023 for Promoting Inclusive Teaching and Learner-Centered Education

Six outstanding learning community participants and one faculty fellow were recently honored for their remarkable efforts in fostering inclusivity in their teaching or learner-centered course design. Among the recipients of these prestigious awards was the College of Science, Engineering, and Technology.

The College of Science, Engineering, and Technology’s learning community was presented with the College Learning Community Award for their commitment to creating an inclusive and supportive environment for all students. The community’s participants, gather twice a month to engage in enriching discussions centered around a common reader exploring the themes of inclusivity or learner-centered education through the lens of inclusivity. The first-year participants discussions centered around the book “What Inclusive Teachers Do” by Tracie Marcella Addy and the second-year participants centered their discussion around the book “Making Learner-Centered Teaching work” by Phillis Blumberg.

The learning community’s dedication extends beyond intellectual discussions. They also undertake monthly assignments designed to enhance their understanding of inclusive teaching practices. These assignments allow participants to actively apply their knowledge, fostering an environment of continuous learning and growth. Additionally, monthly discussions are held to facilitate open dialogues about the challenges and successes of implementing inclusive teaching strategies in their respective disciplines.  The awardees are listed below.

Inclusive Learning Community Award Winners

Mary Brown

Assistant Professor of Population Health

Meaghan Gates

Assistant Professor of Art – Ceramics

Jennifer Gibb

Instructor of the Practice in English – Composition

Zhenyu Jin

Assistant Professor of Geography – GIS

Carolyn Lewis

Assistant Professor of Nursing

Jennifer Weber

Assistant Professor of Dance

Vinodh Chellamuthu

Associate Professor of Mathematics

College of Science Engineering & Technology

Left – Dr. Tasha Toy, Assistant Vice President of Campus Diversity

Right – Eric Pedersen, Dean for SET